Australian Capital Territory

Aquatic Industry Awards

The ACT Aquatic Industry Awards were first established as the ACT Water Safety Awards in 2009 with the objective of providing a mechanism for the recognition of excellence and commitment towards Drowning Prevention and Water Safety Education in the ACT. The event, now named the ACT Aquatic Industry Awards, celebrates nominations from across industry and the community for individuals, schools, organisations and community groups. 

Aquatic recreation is widely recognised as a favourite pastime for Australians. We work, rest and play with water in our midst. Yet the amount of work that goes into ensuring Australians can enjoy water-based activities in the safest way possible is certainly undervalued. Throughout the ACT hundreds of lifesaving trainers, swim teachers, coaches, lifeguards, pool managers, coordinators, school teachers, activity leaders and volunteers dedicate themselves to the safety of others when it comes to participating in activities, both in, and around aquatic environments.  

Award categories include:

  • ACT AUSTSWIM Swim School of the Year
  • ACT Gold Star Aquatic Facility of the Year
  • ACT AUSTSWIM Teacher of the Year
  • ACT Lifeguard of the Year
  • And many more……

See all award categories

Award Nominations

Nominations for the 2015 ACT Aquatic Industry Awards will open in December, recognizing the outstanding efforts made throughout the industry and community during the 2015 calendar year. Nomination forms will be available via this website, or from Royal Life Saving ACT.

Annual Aquatic Industry Awards - Presentation Function 

Royal Life Saving ACT hosts an annual Presentation Function for the ACT Aquatic Industry Awards. The event aims to bring award nominees together with their peers, colleagues, supporters, family and friends in a semi-formal setting where dedication can be openly recognised and appreciated. The event assists in growing and empowering an industry that acts as a conduit for so many others, and is widely supported by Royal Life Saving ACT’s Community Partners and Sponsors.   The next Annual ACT Aquatic Industry Awards Presentation Function is scheduled to be held in March 2016. Function details will appear on this website closer to the date.

The ACT Aquatic Industry Awards are proudly supported by

2014 Water Safety Awards Supporters

Previous ACT Water Safety and Austswim Award recipients

2014 ACT Aquatic Industry Awards - Recipients

2013 Water Safety Award Recipient List

2012 Water Safety Awards Recipient List

2011 AUSTSWIM Awards Recipient List

2011 Water Safety Awards Recipient List