ACT Aquatic Industry and Water Safety Awards

The ACT Aquatic Industry and Water Safety Awards were first established as the ACT Water Safety Awards in 2009 with the objective of providing a mechanism for the recognition of excellence and commitment towards Drowning Prevention and Water Safety Education in the ACT. The event celebrates nominations from across industry and the community for individuals, schools, organisations and community groups.

Aquatic recreation is widely recognised as a favourite pastime for Australians. We work, rest and play with water in our midst. Yet the amount of work that goes into ensuring Australians can enjoy water-based activities in the safest way possible is certainly undervalued. Throughout the ACT hundreds of lifesaving trainers, swim teachers, coaches, lifeguards, pool managers, coordinators, school teachers, activity leaders and volunteers dedicate themselves to the safety of others when it comes to participating in activities, both in, and around aquatic environments.

2019 Award categories include:

  • Excellence in Risk Management
  • Excellence in Supervision
  • Excellence in Staff Development
  • Excellence in Facility Design
  • Excellence in Public Education
  • Excellence in Incident Management
  • Excellence in Facility Management
  • Excellence in Customer Service

Award Nominations

Nominations for the 2018/19 ACT Aquatic Industry Awards are now open. Nominations will close on Friday 17th May 2019

Steps for nomination:

1. Please download the ACT Aquatic Industry and Water Safety Awards guide available here prior to nominating

2. You will need to compile your nomination ready for uploading through the online form. Microsoft Word or PDF file formats are recommended. Max file size 15 MB

3. Please click here and fill in the form to upload your nomination

Key Dates:

* Nominations Open - Friday 19th April 2019

* Nominations Close - Friday 17th May 2019

* Announcements and Presentation – To Be Confirmed

Please note: AUSTSWIM NOMINATIONS are open until 30th April 2019. Please visit the Austswim Website to submit nominations.

Annual Aquatic Industry and Water Safety Awards - Presentation Function

Details for the 2019 ACT Aquatic Industry and Water Safety Awards presentation function will be confirmed shortly. Please return to this page soon, and keep an eye on our Facebook page for more details as they become available.

Nominees for all categories will receive a personal notification and invitation to attend the presentation event. The presentation event offers award nominees a semi-formal setting where their achievements will be openly recognised and appreciated together with their peers, colleagues, supporters, family and friends. Winners in each award category will take home a prestigious trophy/award keepsake. A professional photographer will be in attendance to record each recipients memorable presentation moments.

Please note: AUSTSWIM Awards will be presented separately this year at the 2019 AUSTSWIM NSW & ACT AWARDS DINNER on Friday 31 May 2019to celebrate 40 years of AUSTSWIM! CLICK HERE to book.

Congratulations to all of our 2018 award winners!


2018 ACT AUSTSWIM Recognised Swim Centre CISAC - Club Swim
ACT AUSTSWIM Teacher of Swimming & Water Safety Artur Vasconcellos
ACT AUSTSWIM Teacher of Infant & Preschool Aquatics Yvonne Court
ACT AUSTSWIM Teacher of Access & Inclusion Yohann Fabrice Gopaul
ACT AUSTSWIM Teacher of Access & Inclusion - Adults Trevor Mettam
ACT AUSTSWIM WETS Aqua Instructor Kathryn Jarvis
ACT AUSTSWIM Presenter of the Yearnot awarded

Aquatic Industry Awards

Excellence in Public Education YMCA NSW
Excellence in Staff Development YMCA NSW
Excellence in Incident Management Lakeside Leisure Centre
Excellence in Facility Management YMCA NSW
Excellence in Customer Service YMCA NSW
Excellence in Risk Management YMCA NSW
Excellence in Supervision YMCA NSW
Excellence in Facility Design not awarded

Community Safety Awards

Ngadyung Award Campbell Cochrane
10 Year Commitment to Water Safety Ainslie Primary School
  Gowrie Primary School
  Holy Trinity Primary School
  Latham Primary School
  St Joseph's Primary School
  St Jude's Primary School
  Torrens Primary School
  Waniassa School

Download the full recipient list here

The ACT Aquatic Industry and Water Safety Awards are proudly supported by: