If you’ve found your way here, you already have an interest in becoming a Pool Lifeguard. And why wouldn’t you?! Pool Lifeguarding is a fun, flexible and dynamic job that will challenge you each and every day. For a lot of  people, it is also their point of entry for a career in the aquatics industry.

The first step in becoming a Pool Lifeguard is to get qualified. This means obtaining a RLSSA Pool Lifeguard Award (or Licence in some States and Territories) which is the minimum qualification for Pool Lifeguards in Australia. The training undertaken to obtain this qualification ensures that every Lifeguard possesses the skills and knowledge to handle a wide variety of incidents that occur on a day to day basis at aquatic centres around Australia.

Prior to obtaining a Pool Lifeguard Award, prospective Lifeguards may need to hold a RLSSA Bronze Medallion (dependent upon State/Territory requirements) and must hold a current First Aid Certificate.

RLSSA Bronze Medallion

The Bronze Medallion aims to develop the level of knowledge, judgement, technique and physical ability required to carry out safe water rescues. The RLSSA Bronze Medallion includes some theory regarding water safety, recognition of an emergency and response as well as the following practical water components:

  • Swim: Be able to swim 400 metres, continuously within 13 minutes. 100m freestyle, 100m breaststroke, 100m survival backstroke, 100m sidestroke
  • Timed Tow: Be able to swim 50 metres, then tow a patient 50m within 3 min 15 secs
  • Survival and Rescue Skills: Demonstrate a range of survival techniques and appropriate rescues for a range of different aquatic environments and scenarios
  • Spinal Injuries: Basic management of a suspected spinal injury in shallow water
  • Rescue Initiative: Demonstrate initiative in effecting a rescue of two people who are in difficulty up to 15 metres from safety

First Aid Certificate

Providing first aid when incidents occur is one of the responsibilities of a Pool Lifeguard and therefore Pool Lifeguards are required to obtain and maintain a current First Aid Certificate recognised by the relevant regulatory body in their State or Territory. Those needing to complete a First Aid Certificate should look for courses that also provide a Statement of Attainment that includes the following unit of competency:

  • HLTAID003 Provide first aid

In Australia, the Provide First Aid Statement of Attainment is valid for 3 years. The resuscitation unit, HLTAID001 Provide CPR, that is included in First Aid training, is only valid for 1 year.

If you are unsure about any aspect of your enrolment or course it is important that you get in contact with your local Royal Life Saving State and Territory Member Organisation.

Lifeguard Training Course

The Pool Lifeguard training course involves both theory and practical sessions in the following areas:

  • Lifeguarding and the Law
  • Accident Prevention
  • Rescue Response
  • Rescue Skills
  • Rescue Procedures
  • Administration and Management
  • Public Relations and Education
  • Pool Operations
  • Venue Considerations

At the successful completion of the RLSSA Pool Lifeguard training course you should also achieve a Statement of Attainment with the following Units of Competency*.

  • HLTAID003 – Provide first aid
  • PUAEME001 – Provide emergency care
  • PUAEME003 – Administer oxygen in an emergency situation
  • SISCAQU002 – Perform basic water rescues
  • SISCAQU006 – Supervise clients in aquatic locations
  • SISCAQU007 – Perform advanced water rescues

*Please note that the Units of Competency listed above may vary dependent on the State or Territory in which you complete the training.  The full list of Units will be made clear as part of the enrolment process.

At the completion of the course prospective Lifeguards are equipped with the basic knowledge and skills to work competently in swimming pools across Australia.

The qualifications required to become a Pool Lifeguard can either be completed individually or in some States and Territories are grouped together and completed in the one training course. The type of training program undertaken is entirely up to you.

The RLSSA Pool Lifeguard Award is current for 12 months. To maintain currency, Lifeguards must complete a re-accreditation process annually which in most cases involves a 1 day refresher course.

Pool Lifeguard Licence

In addition to the RLSSA Pool Lifeguard Award, some States also require Pool Lifeguards to complete an additional on-the-job assessment in order to obtain a Pool Lifeguard Licence. This on-the-job assessment ensures the Pool Lifeguard has completed a venue induction process and is able to apply the skills learnt as part of the training course to where they work.

Individual facilities may also have additional training and qualification requirements and therefore it is best to contact your local pool or leisure centre to discuss with them what they are looking for in a Pool Lifeguard. You never know, they may even offer you a job!